SAFF Championship - October 16, 2021

SAFF Championship : India champions for the eighth time

India defeated Nepal by 3:0 to win the championship for the eighth time. Out of the 13 editions so far, India have played in all but one of the finals. In the today’s final, India was completely dominant Nepal .

Sunil Chhetri scored the first goal of the match in the 49th minute. He easily scored the first goal from a close cross. This was his 80th goal for India. Suresh Singh added the second goal in the 50th minute against Nepal. Substitute Sah Aldul scored the third goal in the 90 th minute of the match.

Reaching the final for the first time in the history of the competition, Nepal was limited to runners-up while India maintained its dominance in the competition.

Nepal head coach Abdullah Almutairi was not the in Nepal’s ‘technical area’ due to restrictions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *