T20 Cricket - August 9, 2022

Nepal captain Sandeep Lamichhane becomes marquee player in UAE T20 league ILT20 2023

Nepalese national cricket team captain Sandeep Lamichhane has been named as the marquee player in the new UAE T20 League or ILT20 league to be held in UAE in 2023. The league is set to launch in January 2023.

This league will intersect with other leagues like Big Bash League and South Africa T20 League. But the financial aspect of this tournament will keep it ahead of other competition. This league is going to become the second major league after IPL in T20 cricket, in which players will get paid good amount.

The UAE International League is set to pay up to US$450,000, or 57 million Nepalese rupees, to the world’s top players in a season. This salary is the highest among cricket leagues after the Indian Premier League (IPL). With this, the T20 league of UAE is going to become an attractive league after the IPL.

A total of six teams will take part in this league in the tournament owned by Reliance Industries, Kolkata Knight Riders, Capri Global, GMR, Lancer Capital and Adani Sportsline.

The league has announced the first list of players participating in the first season.

The plan is to make the T20 tournament lucrative and attract the attention of world cricket by paying big bucks to the players. Due to the huge amount, it is expected that the biggest players of the world will come to play in the tournament. Even though approved by the Emirates Cricket Board (ECB), the league is not owned by it.

Marquee Players: 

Moeen Ali, Andre Russell, Dawid Malan, Wanindu Hasaranga, Sunil Narine, Evin Lewis, Colin Munro, Fabian Allen, Sam Billings, Tom Curran, Alex Hales, Dushamantha Chameera, Shimron Hetmyer, Akeal Hosein, Chris Jordan, Tom Banton, Sandeep Lamichhane, Chris Lynn, Rovman Powell, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Mujeeb ur Rahman.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *