T20 World Cup 2022 - T20 Cricket - February 17, 2022

T20 World Cup 2022 : Nepal announced team for T20 World Cup qualifiers

Nepali national team has been announced for the ICC T20 World Cup qualifiers. The Nepal Cricket Association (NCA) has announced a 14-member Nepali team under the captaincy of Sandeep Lamichhane for the tournament to be held in Oman from Friday.

Nepal is in Group A of the T20 World Cup qualifiers. Group A consists of eight teams including Nepal and host Oman, Bahrain, Canada, Germany, Ireland, Philippines and UAE.

Group A is also divided into group 1 and group 2. Group 1 includes Nepal, Oman, Philippines and Canada. Group 2 includes Bahrain, Germany, Ireland and UAE.

The top 2-2 teams of Group 1 and 2 will reach the semifinals. The two finalists will secure a place in the World Cup in Australia later this year.

Nepal will have to be in the top two of Group 1 to secure a place in the World Cup. After winning the semi-finals, Nepal will be selected in the T20 World Cup to be held in Australia later this year.

Nepal’s Schedule for ICC T20 World Cup Qualifier

  • Nepal Versus Oman – Oman Academy 18 – February 2021
  • Nepal vs. Philippines – Oman Academy 19 – February 2021
  • Nepal v Canada – Oman Academy 21 – February 2021
  • Semifinals 1 and 2 – Oman Academy 22 February 2021
  • 3rd Place Play-Off and Final – Oman Academy 24 February 2021

Nepal Team

Fast bowler Karan KC has been replaced by Gulshan Kumar Jha in the team. KC has been ruled out due to injury.

Sandeep Lamichhane (Captain), Sharad Bheswakar, Gyanendra Malla, Dipendra Singh Airee, Kushal Bhurtel, Mohammad Asif Sheikh, Mohammad Arif Sheikh, Abhinas Bohra, Jitendra Mukhiya, Kamal Singh Airee, Vivek Kumar Yadav, Lokesh Bahadur Bam, Sagar Dhakal, Gulshan Kumar Jha

Alternate players

Kushal Malla, Sahib Alam, Pradeep Airy


Pubudu Dasanayake – Head Coach

Dhammika Prasad – Consultant Bowling Coach
Vikram Neupane – Physio
Raman Siwakoti – Analyst
Sumanraj Karki – Manager

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *