Cricket - January 28, 2022

Cricket Association Nepal (CAN) signed 36 players for the year 2022 under central agreement

The Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) has signed 18 men’s and 18 women’s players in the central agreement for the year 2022. In the CAN meeting held at Bhairahawa on Thursday, the classification of players was also done according to the central agreement.

Contracted male players

Captain Sandeep Lamichhane, former captain Gyanendra Malla, Dipendra Singh Airee, Sompal Kami and Karan KC have been placed in grade ‘A’ of the classification. Kushal Bhurtel, Asif Sheikh, Sharad Bheshawkar, Arif Sheikh, Avinash Bohara and Vinod Bhandari have been placed in grade ‘B’ and Kushal Malla, Rohit Kumar Poudel, Kamal Singh Airee, Bikram Sob, Shahab Alam, Susan Bhari and Pawan Sarraf have been placed in grade ‘C’.

Contracted female players

Captain Rubina Chhetri, vice-captain Sita Ranamagar, Indu Burma, Kajol Shrestha and Karuna Bhandari have been placed in grade ‘A’. Sarita Magar, Kavita Kuwar, Apsari Begum, Saraswati Chaudhary, Sawanam Rai, Jyoti Pandey in Grade ‘B’ and Dolly Bhatt, Kavita Joshi, Sangeeta Rai, Roma Thapa, Asmina Karmacharya, Mamta Chaudhary and Vindu Rawal in Grade ‘C’.

CAN has formally withdrawn its decision not to include Gyanendra Malla, Dipendra Singh Airee, Sompal Kami and Kamal Singh Airee in the six-month central agreement through a board meeting.

It has been decided to give Rs 100,000 each to Bikram Sob, Rohit Poudel, Gulshan Jha and Rs 50,000 incentive allowance to women player Jyoti Pandey who are not in the central agreement even though they were included in the Nepali team that visited Oman in September. Similarly, CAN will pay Rs 150,000 for the treatment of Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi, who is out of the field after undergoing surgery for a knee injury.

CAN has formed a player selection committee under the coordination of former national player Dipendra Chaudhary. Roshan Kumar Singh has been appointed as the coordinator in the financial committee, Birendra Bahadur Chand in the technical committee, Madhav Karmacharya in the competition committee and Kailash Bista in the cricket committee.

CAN has also formed a working committee comprising chairman Chatur Bahadur Chand, acting secretary Prashant Bikram Malla, treasurer Roshan Kumar Singh, member Durgaraj Pathak and Padma Bahadur Khadka. CAN has decided to hold its annual general meeting on February 26 and 27 in Dhangadhi.

Also, CAN has decided to appoint 2-2 staff for Pokhara, Bhairahawa and Dhangadhi cricket grounds and 1-1 staff for cricket grounds in Janakpur and Saptari.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *