Badminton - February 14, 2021

Deepesh and Jessica won the first Prime Minister’s Cup badminton title

APF’s Deepesh Dhami and Jessica Gurung have won the Yonex Sunrise First Prime Minister’s Cup open badminton tournament in Chitwan. In the men’s singles, Dhami defeated Prince Dahal of APF and Jessica defeated Rashila Maharjan of Nepal Army in the women’s singles.

In the men’s singles, Dhami defeated Dahal 21-19, 22-20. After the victory, Dhami has also avenged the defeat in the 10th Pushpalal Smriti Ranking National Badminton Championship held at Golbazar in Siraha recently. In that competition, Dhami lost to Prince in the final.

In the women’s event organized by Chitwan Badminton Association and Harilal Dharmadevi Memorial Foundation, Jessica Gurung of APF defeated Rashila Maharjan 2-1. Jessica defeated Rashila 21-18, 17-21, 21-17.

The winners of the women’s and men’s singles competitions received Rs 115,000 in cash. Similarly, the second will get Rs 55,000 and the third will get Rs 15,000. Received at the rate of 15 thousand. Similarly, all the winners received trophies, certificates and medals.

Navin Shrestha and Ratnajit Tamang of Nepal army won the men’s doubles title. In the final, Navin and Ratna defeated Dipesh Dhami and Gautam Kathayat of APF 21-11, 21-15. The winners of the competition, which cost around Rs 4 million, received Rs 60,000 in cash, Rs 30,000 for the second and Rs 8,000 for the third.

Out of the top 20, Army’s Suroj Maharjan and Pawin Linthep have won the men’s doubles. Maharjan and Linthep defeated Butwal Badminton Club’s Bishwas Nepal and Ganesh Rayamajhi’s pair 21-15, 21-19 in the final to lift the trophy. The winning players received medals, trophies and certificates worth Rs 50,000. The runners-up received Rs 25,000 and the third place winners received Rs 7,000 each along with medals, trophies and certificates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *